Vanessa Tomlinson

8 Hits



Eight exciting new works for solo percussion

Vanessa Tomlinson is one-half of the innovative and energetic ensemble Clocked Out and also heads the percussion department at the Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University. 8 Hits is 8 new works for solo percussion – written by the leading Australian composers of her generation; Natasha Anderson, Erik Griswold, Cat Hope, Rosemary Joy, Peter Knight, Kate Neal, Lindsay Vickery and Vanessa Tomlinson herself.

For more than 20 years percussionist Vanessa Tomlinson has been at the forefront of contemporary music making in Australia. Providing the nation with Australian premieres by composers as diverse as Ferneyhough, Xenakis, Reich and Feldman alongside more than 100 new works by Australian composers, she has cemented herself as a vital part of the Australian soundscape.

In 2013 she was awarded an Australia Council Project Fellowship to continue this work, and develop seven new works by leading Australian composers of her generation – Kate Neal, Natasha Anderson, Peter Knight, Erik Griswold, Cat Hope, Rosemary Joy, Lindsay Vickery – and compose a new solo work herself.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Clocked Out


8 Hits revealed eight unique musical universes, each with a unique and complex set of ephemeral rules. These works are set firmly in the increasingly complex and flustered sound milieu we inhabit every day – a multi-layered mishmash of household sounds, mediated sounds, bureaucracy sounds, feedback sounds – but here we recognize these sounds anew, in new forms, in new spaces and new relationships.


This production is part of the following series:

Jazz at the Centre

Whether traditional jazz is up your alley or you fancy something a little more improvisatory, ambient or electric, step away from the daily grind and into the Salon to experience the sweet sounds of jazz at the Best Place to Hear.