Dejan Lazić

Dejan Lazić


“A powerhouse performer whose playing combines strength with beauty.” The Guardian

Dejan Lazić is one of music’s boldest time travellers, jumping centuries in the course of an evening. 20th-century modernists meet 18th-century radicals in an artfully arranged sequence of fleet and fabulous fantasias, sonatas and dances by four innovative composers, played with dexterity, subtlety and insight by the young maverick.

Born in Zagreb and raised in Salzburg by a musical family, Lazić was practically destined to be one of the most exciting pianists in Europe, with a mercurial imagination and fingers to match. Lazić has worked with the Australian Chamber Orchestra on a Beethoven concerto cycle, won awards for Rachmaninoff with the London Philharmonic and ‘discovered’ a third Brahms piano concerto by arranging the composer’s violin concerto for his instrument.

But it’s in the more intimate realm of the recital that Lazić has earned his reputation for unpredictable yet intuitively ‘right’ programming. His Liaisons series of concerts and recordings bring together works of vastly different ages and aesthetics to discover the hidden affinities between them: the way C.P.E. Bach’s moody dramas rhyme with those of the young Britten, or Scarlatti’s playful spirit melts into Bartók’s folksy humour. Lazić urges us to hear these pieces anew, guiding us with wit, heart and an infectious sense of adventure.

Marshall McGuire, Head of Artistic Planning on Dejan Lazić:

I remember Dejan’s vivid performances when he was here with the Australian Chamber Orchestra a few years ago, and can’t wait to see his dynamic and passionate performance on stage here to open our Great Performers series. His playing combines a powerful intensity with a unique and captivating performance style.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre



C.P.E. Bach
Fantasia in D, Wq.117/14
Character Piece: La Böhmer, Wq.117/26
Sonata in D minor, Wq.69

Benjamin Britten
Holiday Diary, Op.5

Domenico Scarlatti
Sonata in D minor, K9
Sonata in D, K.430
Sonata in E, K.135a

Béla Bartók
Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm (from Mikrokosmos Volume Six)

Domenico Scarlatti
Sonata in E, K.380
Sonata in C, K.420
Sonata in F, K.82

Béla Bartók
Funeral March (from the symphonic poem, Kossuth), BB 31
Three Rondos on Slovak Folk Tunes, BB 92