Schubert's Flights of Fantasie

Kristian Chong


Kristian Chong and Sophie Rowell unite in the Salon

The opening concert of Kristian Chong and Friends sees the wonderful pairing of renowned Australian violinist Sophie Rowell and pianist Kristian Chong.

In this concert, Mozart’s exuberant Sonata for Piano and Violin in B-flat is followed by a hot-blooded and explosive work by Australian composer Andrew Schultz. One of the greatest duo works, Schubert’s Fantasie for Violin and Piano, completes the program – a notoriously virtuosic work at times, it is intensely beautiful and emotionally provoking, providing a fitting conclusion to this exceptional recital.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Kristian Chong


Schubert’s Flights of Fantasie

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Sonata for Piano and Violin in B-flat, K.454

Andrew Schultz
‘Night Flight’ (2003)

Franz Schubert
Fantasie for violin and piano in C, D.934