Arcadia Winds - Continuum

Arcadia Winds Keith Saunders.jpg


Arcadia Winds presents a program of continuous music spanning the continuum of time.

From Monteverdi madrigals to a Berio Sequenza, Continuum features pieces for solo and ensemble winds that flow continuously together, blending with and complementing each other in new and wonderful ways.

Each instrument in the wind quintet will feature separately, in Giacinto Scelsi’s Ko-Lho, Luciano Berio’s Sequenza VII for Solo Oboe, and Katy Abbott Kvasnica’s MultiSonics for Solo Bassoon. Timeless Monteverdi madrigals, originally for five voices and now arranged for the five instruments of the wind quintet, will tie these pieces together.

The concert culminates with the world premiere of Elliott Gyger’s new wind quintet Et in Arcadia Ego, itself a continuum of fascinating and diverse miniature sound worlds.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Paul Stanhope
Dawn Lament

Claudio Monteverdi
Ecco mormorar l’onde

Katy Abbott Kvasnica
MultiSonics for Solo Bassoon

Claudio Monteverdi
Cruda Amarilli

Giacinto Scelsi
Ko Lho

Claudio Monteverdi
Lamento d’Arianna: I. Lasciatemi morire

Luciano Berio
Sequenza VII for Solo Oboe

Elliott Gyger
Et In Arcadia Ego