Baroque eloquence, classical grandeur and intense romanticism

The ASQ travels across musical time in a program that encompasses Baroque eloquence, classical grandeur and intense romanticism at the dawn of the 20th century. The program begins with one of the earliest works for string quartet written by Italian master, Alessandro Scarlatti.

Bartók, the undisputed giant of the 20th century string quartet, makes his first impression in the genre with this sumptuous first quartet. Though revelling in the musical world of late romanticism and the vivid colours of the impressionists, the vigour and rawness of this music is unmistakably Bartók.

String quartets of the classical era are often described as musical conversations. Beethoven’s first Razumovsky quartet orates with passion, serious intent and grandeur of scale. Composed soon after the revolutionary Eroica Symphony, this quartet carries the same powerful sense of expressiveness and scope.

Presented by Australian String Quartet


Domenico Scarlatti
Sonata a Quattro No.4 in D minor

Béla Bartók
String Quartet No.1

Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet in F Op.59 No.1