Bittersweet Obsessions: Monteverdi & Bach

Bittersweet Obsessions.jpg


Three timeless tales that follow one woman’s journey through the bitter and sweet of life.

Monteverdi | Lamento della Ninfa.
A beautiful, moving story of loss and mourning, the nymph, angrily and with broken heart, sings the story of her traitorous lover.

Monteverdi | Il combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda.
A story of love, tragedy and mistaken identity.

J.S. BACH | Coffee Cantata.
A rollicking satire about the coffee-drinking antics of this lusciously-jolly, caffeine-crazed woman.

Soprano Natasha Wilson ties these three worlds together in a dramatic, staged performance with the Brandenburg. Discover heartbreak, passion, and comic revelry in a suppressive world.

Joining Natasha on stage are tenors Karim Sulayman from the USA and Australian Spencer Darby, as well as Danish bass Jakob Bloch Jespersen.

Presented by Australian Brandenburg Orchestra


Scene 1 | LAMENT
Kapsberger Toccata arpeggiata
Monteverdi Lamento della Ninfa

Scene 2 | TRAGEDY
Falconieri Ciaccona
Monteverdi Overture to Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria
Monteverdi Il combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda
Trabaci Consonanze Stravaganti

Scene 3 | COMEDY
J.S Bach Brandenburg Concerto No 4 BWV 1049 (first movement)
J.S Bach Coffee Cantata BWV 211


Australian Brandenburg Orchestra