Anna Goldsworthy

The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1, Part 3

Anna Goldsworthy.JPG


Six concerts, seven clavicinistes, 24 keys, 48 ways of looking at Bach.

Anna Goldsworthy is one of Australia’s great musical storytellers. In this program she sparks a conversation between Bach and a number of great Classical and Romantic composers.

In 1722, Johann Sebastian Bach set out to explore a new way of thinking about sound. His explorations led to an astonishing achievement – two books of 24 Preludes and Fugues, in all major and minor keys. In 2017 we’ve invited some of Australia’s most accomplished, creative and adventurous keyboard players to take us on a journey through ‘the 48’, bringing their own insights and reflections to this music, as well as matching it with music that they feel illuminate and enhance these masterworks. This is a unique project across 6 concerts throughout 2017, celebrating the genius of J.S. Bach.

Each concert will be followed by a short Q&A with the artists, allowing us all to reflect on and interrogate the music of the greatest of all Baroque composers.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Anna Goldsworthy piano


J.S. Bach
Prelude and Fugue No.17 in A-flat, BWV862

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Sonata No.8, Op.13 ‘Pathetique’ 2nd movement: Adagio cantabile

J.S. Bach
Prelude and Fugue No.18 in G-sharp minor, BWV863
Prelude and Fugue No.19 in A, BWV864

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Sonata K. 576 First movement: Allegro

J.S. Bach
Prelude and Fugue No.20 in A minor, BWV865
Prelude and Fugue No.21 in B-flat major, BWV866
Prelude and Fugue No.22 in B-flat minor, BWV867

Frédéric Chopin
Piano Sonata No.2, Op.35, 3rd movement: March funebre

J.S. Bach
Prelude and Fugue No.23 in B, BWV868
Prelude and Fugue No.24 in B minor, BWV869


This production is part of the following series:

Winter Sound Escape

Experience 3 heart-warming concerts in Melbourne Recital Centre’s Salon for just $99 – plus enjoy a complimentary hot drink from Blondie Bar for each concert you attend!