The Hourglass Ensemble

Danzas Amorosas

The Hourglass Ensemble


The Hourglass Ensemble features leading soloists and chamber musicians from Sydney, focusing on commissioned Australian and other contemporary chamber music.

Playing with unique honesty and spirit, they specialise in combining woodwind, strings, piano and voice in unique groupings.

Danzas Amorosas, or Dances of Love, is a seminal work by Chilean-Australian composer Daniel Rojas for flutes, clarinets, violin, cello, and piano. The piece reminds us of being hypnotised, unable to walk past any couple dancing a tango or cha-cha. Rojas invokes the music of ‘Pachamama’ Mother Earth, and the voice of ‘Taita Wamani’, Father Mountain, along with familiar dance rhythms. The ancient people of South America prayed for fertility, growth, and the harvest using particular dances – the salsa, the merengue, the lambada – the bodies of dancers repeating signals from the core of ancient rituals.

The Hourglass Ensemble presents passionate operatic favourites by Gimenez and Verdi, including the cherished Pace, pace mio dio, or Peace, peace my god!, with a miniature orchestral arrangement. There will be funky new work with blues and Latin vibe by Brisbane composer Andrew Ball, the wildly passionate and irrepressible Tango Fantasia for flute and piano, a fast-paced flamenco commission by wannabe Spaniard Andrew Kennedy, and a cheeky anthology inspired by a former prime minister, including Ian Munro’s The Tango We Had To Have, and the Scumbag Tango by Russell Gilmour, from The Keating Tangos.

Presented by The Hourglass Ensemble


Danzas Amorosas, Daniel Rojas (Chile/Australia)
Flute/piccolo/alto flute, clarinet/bass clarinet, violin, cello, piano

Giuseppe Verdi (Italy)
Pace pace mio dio, soprano aria, La Forza del Destino
Soprano with ensemble

The Keating Tangos, various Tasmanian composers including Marcellino, Munro, Grenfell, Gilmour
Clarinet, piano

Piano trio, Dulcie Holland (Australia)
Violin, cello, piano

Maurice Ravel (France)
Vocalise-etude en forme de Habanera
Soprano, piano

Tango Fantasia, Jacob Gade (Denmark)
Flute, piano

Carau’s Curse, Andrew Ball (Australia) (premiere)
Flute, clarinet, violin, cello

The Butterfly, Lori Laitman (America)
Soprano, clarinet

Geronimo Giminez (Spain)
Me Llamam la Primarosa, soprano aria, from Il Barbero de Sevilla
Sierras de Granada, soprano aria, from La Tempranica
Soprano, piano


Vivien Jeffery violin
Geoffrey Gartner cello
Andrew Kennedy clarinets/artistic director
Gregory Kinda piano
Ewa Kowalski flute/piccolo
Suzi Stengel soprano


This production is part of the following series: