The Melbourne Ensemble

European Masters of the 20th Century

Melbourne Ensemble_Freya.jpg


Formed from within the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, the Melbourne Ensemble is a chamber music group focused on repertoire incorporating winds and strings.

In this exciting program the ensemble explores three works by three giants of the twentieth century: Stravinsky, Poulenc and Hindemith

Stravinsky’s remarkable Septet gives a glimpse into the mind of the ever changing style of the composer of the Rite of Spring. Paul Hindemith’s Octet, ultimately his last chamber composition, is a tour de force of Hindemith’s unique acerbic style. Between these two monumental works the Sonata for Clarinet and Bassoon by the young Francis Poulenc is full of wit, mischief and utterly charming.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and The Melbourne Ensemble


Igor Stravinsky

Francis Poulenc
Sonata for clarinet and bassoon, FP 32a

Paul Hindemith