Mendelssohn's Octet

Mendelssohn's Octet


Full to the brim with infectious vitality, Mendelssohn’s Octet is one of the true life-affirming pinnacles of Western music.

Practically inventing the genre of a work for eight strings, the work of the 16-year-old child genius has never been bettered.

Join Melbourne Chamber Orchestra’s flagship chamber ensemble for a performance of Mendelssohn’s octet, matched with Brahms’ tender Sextet No.1 and a new octet by contemporary classical British composer Douglas Weiland.

Presented by Melbourne Chamber Orchestra


Winterreise for string octet

Felix Mendelssohn
Octet in E-flat Op.20

Johannes Brahms
Sextet No.1 in B-flat Op.18


Musicians of Australian Octet