Ludovico's Band

Monteverdi: The Grand Madrigals



Ludovico’s Band is one of Australia’s most dynamic Baroque bands acclaimed for its performances of music from the 16th to the 18th centuries.

The combination of multiple plucked string instruments with soaring violins and a rich bowed bass creates a unique and exotic sound world. Directed by Marshall McGuire (triple harp) and Tommie Andersson (lute, theorbo, Baroque guitar), the group features Rachael Beesley (violin), Samantha Cohen (theorbo, lute, Baroque guitar) and Ruth Wilkinson (recorders, viola da gamba). Formed in 2002 for the Melbourne Festival event, Sheer Pluck, the performers are united by the desire to form a plucked basso continuo band and regularly invite guests to feature in their performances.

Ludovico’s Band collaborates with The Consort of Melbourne to present two extended madrigals. The only surviving excerpt from his opera L’Arianna, the heart-wrenching ‘Lament’ contains some of Monteverdi’s most vivid writing. And in a final tribute to this great Italian master the two ensembles present a rare performance of Il ballo delle ingrate (The Ballet of the Ungrateful Ladies), written for a wedding celebration in Mantua in 1608.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Ludovico’s Band


Ludovico’s Band
The Consort of Melbourne


Claudio Monteverdi
Lamento d’Arianna
Il Ballo delle ingrate