MSO and the Australian String Quartet



Enjoy some personal favourites of MSO’s Concertmaster Dale Barltrop with the Australian String Quartet and the MSO, in this captivating program of Stravinsky, Hindson and Schubert.

The program begins with Stravinsky’s Dumbarton Oaks, a private commission to celebrate the 30th wedding anniversary of Robert and Mildred Bliss, an American couple living in a 19th century mansion in Washington DC called Dumbarton Oaks.

With his daughter’s terminal tuberculosis weighing heavily on his mind, Stravinsky took inspiration from the gardens of Dumbarton Oaks, and Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos, which the composer loved, to create this work.

Australian composer Matthew Hindson’s The Rave and the Nightingale takes its inspiration from Schubert’s monolithic last string quartet, Quartet No.15 in G, composed in 1826. In this work for string quartet and orchestra, Hindson questions what sort of music would Schubert write, if he had been born in the late 20th century – techno-inspired electronica anthems perhaps? Schubert’s own much loved String Quartet No.14 ‘Death and the Maiden’, played in a version for string orchestra, concludes the program.

The MSO is pleased to welcome the Australian String Quartet as the 2017 Ensemble in Residence.

Presented by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra



Igor Stravinsky
Concerto in E-flat ‘Dumbarton Oaks’

Matthew Hindson
The Rave and the Nightingale

Franz Schubert
String Quartet No.14 ‘Death and the Maiden’ D.810
(version for string orchestra)


Australian String Quartet
Dale Barltrop violin/director


Join speaker Lucy Rash for a pre-concert talk in Elisabeth Murdoch Hall from 7pm – 7.30pm.


This production is part of the following series: