MSO Plays Beethoven 8

Michael Collins


The very best of Australian composition and woodwind talent combine.

Featuring the music of one of Australia’s most accomplished and vibrant compositional talents, Elena Kats-Chernin, don’t miss the MSO showcasing the power and versatility of woodwind.

In this special one-off concert, British clarinet virtuoso Michael Collins returns to play with and conduct the MSO in a riveting series of works that shows off the very best of the orchestra’s woodwind section.

Joining him is the 2015 ABC Symphony Australia Young Performer of the Year, Brisbane-born Lloyd Van’t Hoff, performing a dynamic work for basset clarinet and chamber orchestra entitled Ornamental Air, composed by MSO’s 2017 Composer in Residence, Elena Kats-Chernin.

Also on the program is Dvorak’s ‘old worldy’ Serenade for Winds, Mendelssohn’s genius concert piece, Konzertstück, and Beethoven’s Symphony No.8 (which he fondly referred to as his ‘little Symphony in F’), which despite being written while the great composer was growing increasingly deaf has no musical deficiencies to show for it!

The MSO is delighted to welcome Elena Kats-Chernin, one of Australia’s leading composers, as its 2017 Composer in Residence.

Presented by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra


Antonín Dvořák
Serenade for Winds

Elena Kats-Chernin
Ornamental Air

Felix Mendelssohn

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No.8


Michael Collins clarinet/director
Lloyd Van’t Hoff clarinet


Join us for a pre-concert talk in Elisabeth Murdoch Hall from 19:00 – 19:30