Music of the Spheres

Goldner String Quartet


‘The country’s indisputably pre-eminent chamber music ensemble.’ Sydney Morning Herald

The Goldner String Quartet has widespread and long-standing recognition for excellence, not only as Australia’s pre-eminent string quartet, but as an ensemble of international significance.

Carl Czerny described the sublime slow movement from Beethoven’s Quartet Op.59, No.2 as the composer’s contemplation of a starry sky and his thoughts on the music of the spheres. The Goldner String Quartet begins this concert with the famous Quartettsatz by Schubert a succinct and dramatic movement which alternates between high intensity and almost painful beauty. Between these masterworks, the group will perform the Victorian premiere of a new Quartet by Australian composer Matthew Hindson.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Goldner String Quartet


Franz Schubert
String Quartet No.12 in C minor, Quartettsatz

Matthew Hindson
New Work

Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet No.8 in E minor, Op.59, No.2