Kristian Chong & Friends

Ravel's Blues

Kristian Chong & Friends with Sophie Rowell


Pianist Kristian Chong is one of Australia’s most sought-after musicians performing as a soloist, chamber musician and concerto pianist.

The series Kristian Chong & Friends is literally an assembly of his enthusiastic friends performing together some of the great chamber duo sonatas, trios, quartets and quintets.

Kristian is lucky to count amongst his friends some exceptional Australian and international musicians, including violinists Dale Barltrop, Rebecca Chan, Adam Chalabi, Sophie Rowell and Natsuko Yoshimoto, cellist Li-Wei Qin and violist Christopher Moore. Kristian Chong & Friends is simply great chamber music performed by some of Australia’s most brilliant and acclaimed musicians.

French flavours infuse this marvelous concert with Ravel’s famous Sonata for violin and piano and Chausson’s Concerto for violin, piano and string quartet. Renowned violinist Sophie Rowell joins Kristian to perform Ravel’s last chamber work. The second movement of his sonata is a great Ravel-styled homage to the Blues. Chausson’s Concerto is a passionate and fervid work; both the violin and piano work together in blazing landscapes of vivid colour and fire accompanied by a string quartet.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Kristian Chong & Friends


Sophie Rowel violin
Kristian Chong piano

Matthew Tomkins & Phillipa West violins
Lauren Brigden viola
Rachael Tobin cello


Maurice Ravel
Sonata for Violin and Piano

Ernest Chausson
Concerto for Violin, Piano and String Quartet in D