Revolutionary Romance - Spohr & Mozart

Nicole van Bruggen


Romance and the Revolution – Mozart’s famous Clarinet Quintet and exquisite Sinfonia Concertante.

Don’t miss this chance to hear the beautiful rich sounds and textures of Classical period strings performing the most sublime works by Mozart and Spohr, along with the star of the basset clarinet Nicole van Bruggen.

Spohr introduces us to a revolutionary new world of string playing, before launching into Mozart’s famous Clarinet Quintet, written for the Viennese master clarinettist Anton Stadler. The Grande Sestetto Concertante, familiar to audiences as Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola, will be performed here in the magnificent chamber music version.

Presented by Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra


Louis Spohr (1784-1859)
Allegro Moderato from String Sextet in C major Op.140 (1848)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Clarinet Quintet in A major K.581 (1791)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Grande Sestetto Concertante in E flat major K. 364 (1779)
Anonymous arrangement after Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat for violin, viola and orchestra


Australia’s brightest and shiniest new orchestra … with its mellifluous woodwind, punchy brass and beautifully tuned strings … orchestra seventeen88 captured that ‘doing something differently’ spirit perfectly in what was a genuinely exciting evening. It’s to be hoped that this exciting young orchestra will continue to carry through their own revolution in the years to come. Bravo! … this is an important addition to Australia’s musical landscape.