Sounds of Spring



MSO Concertmaster Eoin Andersen invites you to enjoy a program bursting with the sounds and colours of spring.

Beethoven’s Spring Sonata, bursting with lyricism and pastoral themes will see Eoin Andersen together with Melbourne’s own Stefan Cassomenos, who in 2013 was a laureate of the International Telekom Beethoven Competition in Bonn.

The second work on the program, Copland’s powerful evocation of the life of American pioneers in the Appalachian Mountains, will be played in the original version for 13 instruments, lead from the first violin by Andersen.

In the second half we travel to the southern hemisphere, where Astor Piazzolla mixes the fire of the tango with Vivaldi-flourishes in his highly original take on Four Seasons in Buenos Aires for violin and string orchestra.

Presented by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra


Ludwig van Beethoven
Spring Sonata

Aaron Copland
Appalachian Spring

Astor Piazzolla
The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires


Eoin Anderson violin/director
Stefan Cassomenos piano