Stephen McIntyre - Seven Sonatas

Stephen McIntyre.jpg


Experience works from three different centuries

Four sonatas by Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757) in one movement; the celebrated ‘Funeral March’ Sonata of Frederic Chopin (1810-1849); the Sonata No.4 of Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915) in two movements; the Sonata No.7 by Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1963).

These are some of the most original of the many works for piano written in Sonata form. Works from three different centuries, all written for the piano by composers who were great keyboard players.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Alexander Scriabin
Piano Sonata No.4, Op.30

Domenico Scarlatti
Keyboard Sonata in C K.420
Keyboard Sonata in D minor K.9
Keyboard Sonata in D, K.491
Keyboard Sonata in C, K.513

Frédéric Chopin
Piano Sonata No.2 in B-flat minor Op.35 ‘Funeral March’

Sergei Prokofiev
Piano Sonata No.7 in B-flat, Op.83