with James Crabb



Ensemble Liaison & Friends is a unique concert series presented by three internationally acclaimed musicians – David Griffiths (clarinet), Svetlana Bogosavljevic (cello) and Timothy Young (piano).

Their first concert series in 2007 established the ensemble as a tour de force, renowned for imaginative and innovative programming, setting the trend for brilliant collaborations with leading artists. As their name suggests, collaborations form the basis of their artistic and musical vision with many fine musicians, singers, dancers, actors, puppeteers, conductors, choirs and improvisers from across Australia and beyond working with the ensemble since their inception to much critical acclaim.

James Crabb is one of the world’s leading exponents of the accordion and acclaimed authority on the music of Astor Piazzolla. Tango takes the lead role in this concert with Ensemble Liaison and Crabb paying homage to its great advocates, baritone Carlos Gardel, Piazzolla, the violinist/composer Antonio Agri, and Jose Carla. Equally at home in the western canon, the accordion brings its wide expressive range to Dvořák’s folk-inspired Five Bagatelles, Op.47 and César Franck’s beautiful Prelude, Fugue and Variations. American contemporary classical composer John Mackey pays tribute to the tango in an exciting modern transformation, his Breakdown Tango. Celebrate this expressive and passionate dance form through a program of rich music that will warm your soul and invigorate your mind.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Ensemble Liaison


Antonín Dvořák
Five Bagatelles (arr. Griffiths)

César Franck
Prelude, Fugue and Variation Op.18 (arr. Crabb)

Traditional arr. James Crabb
Scottish Folk Dances

John Mackey
Breakdown Tango

Antonio Agri / José Carli (arr.James Crabb)
Desde Adentro

Astor Piazzolla (arr. James Crabb)
Milonga del Angel, La Muerte del Angel, Romance del Diablo & Vayamos al Diablo

Carlos Gardel / Williams (arr. Crabb)
Tango (por una cabeza)

Cast & Crew


James Crabb



Paul Wright



David Griffiths


Timothy Young


Svetlana Bogosavljevic