Seraphim Trio

The History of the Piano Trio: The Moderns



Over the last two decades, Seraphim Trio, Helen Ayres (violin), Anna Goldsworthy (piano) and Tim Nankervis (cello), has remained steadfastly committed to chamber music – from building the contemporary repertoire, to developing new audiences and teaching the next generation of performers.

Following its recently acclaimed cycles of Beethoven and Schubert trios, in 2017 Seraphim Trio launches a celebration of the history of the piano trio journeying through time from the Viennese salon of Mozart and Beethoven, to the rich subjectivities of Brahms, the vivid folk imaginings of Dvořák and the colour and majesty of Ravel.

Seraphim Trio explores the 20th-century piano trio with Peter Sculthorpe’s ‘From Irkanda 3’ and other music of the moderns, Ravel and Shostakovich. Ravel’s Trio remains, even today, a wondrous modern invention of sonority and texture while Shostakovich’s Trio, with its palpable expression of grief, remains painfully relevant in our century. Sculthorpe’s glittering ‘From Irkanda 3’ propels the genre to a bright and hopeful future.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Seraphim Trio


Peter Schulthorpe
From Irkanda III

Maurice Ravel
Piano Trio in A minor, Op.67

Dmitri Shostakovich
Piano Trio No.2 in E minor, Op.67