Seraphim Trio

The History of the Piano Trio: The Nationalists



Over the last two decades, Seraphim Trio, Helen Ayres (violin), Anna Goldsworthy (piano) and Tim Nankervis (cello), has remained steadfastly committed to chamber music – from building the contemporary repertoire, to developing new audiences and teaching the next generation of performers.

Following its recently acclaimed cycles of Beethoven and Schubert trios, in 2017 Seraphim Trio launches a celebration of the history of the piano trio journeying through time from the Viennese salon of Mozart and Beethoven, to the rich subjectivities of Brahms, the vivid folk imaginings of Dvořák and the colour and majesty of Ravel.

Seraphim Trio continues its musical journey through time performing gems from the history of the piano trio. The Trio celebrates the nationalists with music by two great friends, Dvořák and Brahms. While Brahms remained loyal to German Classicism during a time of Romantic opulence, he recognized in his young Czech friend a kindred melodic inventiveness and gift for musical line. Brahms was also instrumental in the publication of Dvořák’s ‘Dumky’ Trio, one of the most beloved trios of this era.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Seraphim Trio


Johannes Brahms
Piano Trio in B, Op.8

Antonín Dvořák
Piano Trio No.4 in E minor, Op.90 ‘Dumky’