University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra



See the University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra perform three seminal and powerful works from Wagner, Prokofiev and Rachmaninoff this August.

The concert opens with with the Prelude and Liebestod from Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde, which contains some of the most moving orchestral passages ever written.

Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No.2, performed by MCM student Kevin Chow, is one of the most virtuosic concertos in the piano canon.

The concert concludes with Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No.2, which remains to this day, one of his finest and best-loved works.

Presented by The University of Melbourne


Richard Wagner
Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde

Sergei Prokofiev
Piano Concerto No.2

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27