Without Words



Dazzling overtures, charming arias and appealing favourites

Melbourne Guitar Quartet (MGQ) is a brilliant addition to Australia’s musical landscape. As Melbourne’s leading guitar ensemble, MGQ’s blend of innovative arrangements, technical flair and superb ensemble playing is a joy to experience. Through the use of bass, baritone, standard, treble and octave guitars, MGQ embodies a vibrant and dynamic onstage musical persona that has amassed diverse audience appeal since the quartet’s formation in 2005. Avid lovers of chamber music, guitar aficionados as well as concert first timers will no doubt be left captivated and fascinated by MGQ’s inimitable re-workings of established classics and feel invigorated by more recent and newly commissioned works. Guitar performance is set to transform as MGQ embarks upon a voyage of exploring the world of guitar as you have never heard it before.

Without Words explores a cross section of operatic masterpieces adapted to the unique instrumentation of the Melbourne Guitar Quartet. Inspired by the countless arrangements of various operatic works by guitarists of the 19th century, MGQ adopts the role of both orchestra and soloist in performing a variety of dazzling overtures, charming arias and appealing favourites. From Bizet’s evergreen Carmen to Piazzolla’s fiery Argentinian tango operetta Maria de Buenos Aires and assorted arrangements of works by Mozart and Verdi, listeners will bask in the lyrical beauty of the guitar with Melbourne’s most celebrated guitar outfit. In honour of Claudio Monteverdi’s 450th anniversary, MGQ welcomes members from the Victorian Guitar Orchestra, echoing sounds of the old world in homage to Monteverdi’s iconic L’Orfeo.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Melbourne Guitar Quartet


Melbourne Guitar Quartet
Victorian Guitar Orchestra


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
La clemenza di Tito, K.621, Overture, arr. J Tottenham

Giuseppe Verdi
La Traviata, selections, arr. Douglas Gibson

Georges Bizet
Carmen – selections, arr. W. Kanengeiser

Astor Piazzolla
Maria Luisa – selections, arr. C. Donovan

Claudio Monteverdi
L’Orfeo – selections, arr. Douglas Gibson