A Shostakovich Celebration

Sophie Rowell.JPG


Pianist Kristian Chong is one of Australia’s most sought-after musicians, performing often as a chamber musician, concerto soloist and recitalist.

This series is a gathering of his friends performing some of the greatest chamber duo sonatas, trios, quartets and quintets.

The Shostakovich Piano Quintet is one of the composer’s most popular. Its direct, emotional power and raw intensity guarantees a thrilling adventure and captivating story of sound. Written at the request of the Beethoven Quartet who commissioned the work so that Shostakovich could play with them, it is one of the most famous chamber works of the 20th century.

Matching this on the program is one of his most powerful and chilling works, the Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op.147, completed one month before Shostakovich’s death. As his very last composition in 1974, it paints a bleak picture of his mortality-obsessed late writing-style but is thrilling and provides considerable challenges for the performers. Joining Kristian for this work is one of Australia’s most exciting and lauded viola players, Christopher Moore, the current principal viola of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Kristian Chong


Dmitri Shostakovitch
Sonata for Viola and Piano Op.147
Piano Quintet Op.57 in G minor


Kristian Chong and Friends
Kristian Chong, piano
Christopher Moore, viola
Sophie Rowell, violin
Matthew Tomkins, violin
Rachael Tobin, cello