Bach Suites

J.S. Bach


Johann Sebastian Bach set a new precedent for the possibilities of every compositional genre.

In the Orchestral Suites, Bach conjures a spectacular celebration from a simple collection of dances, with a musical language that is both cosmic and deeply human. Full of jubilation and the sheer splendour of sound, this is Bach at his most uplifting.

As poignant today as it was when it was written 300 years ago, the double violin concerto of Bach is a treasure of European art. Composer, conductor and national treasure Richard Mills turns 70 in 2018, and we are celebrating by commissioning a double concerto of our own. With the solos performed by our orchestral players, don’t miss this chance to witness the next generation of talent take centre stage.

Presented by Melbourne Chamber Orchestra


J.S. Bach
Orchestral Suite No.4
Double Violin Concerto

Richard Mills
Concerto for two violins and strings*

J.S. Bach
Orchestral Suite No.3

*Première season. Commission supported by Robert Salzer Foundation


MCO Soloists
Richard Mills conductor
William Hennessy director
Melbourne Chamber Orchestra