Czech Fantasy

OravaQuartet Hero2017-701 sml.jpg


Hailed by Limelight magazine as ‘the most exciting young quartet on the block’, Orava Quartet brings its unique sound and breathtaking intensity to the string quartet canon, inviting audiences to fall in love with exhilarating works by great composers all over again.

Experience Haydn’s ‘Lobkowitz’ Quartet, dedicated to the Czech Duke of Roudnice; compatriot composer Schulhoff’s Five Pieces for String Quartet; and — in a fitting finale to mark the centenary of the composer’s passing — Debussy’s beloved and lush String Quartet in G minor.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Orava Quartet


Joseph Haydn
String Quartet in G, Op.77 No.1 ‘Lobkowitz’

Erwin Schulhoff
5 pieces for String Quartet

Claude Debussy
Quartet in G minor, Op.10