Ensemble Peregrine



Gathering the principal wind players from several of the world’s major orchestras, Ensemble Peregrine unite exclusively for this ANAM Artists program.

Melbourne Symphony Orchestra’s Jack Schiller (Principal Bassoon) and Thomas Hutchinson (Associate Principal Oboe) will be joined by Alex Morris (Assistant Principal Clarinet, Vancouver Symphony Orchestra) and Andrew Young (Horn, Orchestra Philharmonie Luxembourg) for this exciting program. The quintet is capped off with one of Australia’s leading freelance pianist and repetiteurs, Gladys Chua.

Mozart himself declared his Quintet for Piano and Winds to be the best work he had ever written. In fact the piece’s success inspired others including Beethoven, who in turn wrote his Opus 16 for the same unusual instrumentation. Scored for piano, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon, this quintet is superbly crafted and will be presented by Ensemble Peregrine, virtuosic alumni from the Australian National Academy of Music. Don’t miss Ensemble Peregrine in this ANAM Artists performance.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Thomas Hutchinson, oboe
Alex Morris, clarinet
Jack Schiller, bassoon
Andrew Young, horn
Gladys Chua, piano


Paul Stanhope
Morning Star II

Francis Poulenc
Trio for oboe, bassoon and piano FP43

Heinz Holliger
Quintet for Winds and Piano

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Quintet for Piano and Winds K452