In Memoriam - Mozart Requiem

Mozart Requiem.jpg


Mozart’s Requiem, an enduringly popular choral masterpiece, remained unfinished when the composer died late in 1791; its completion by others has been a source of controversy ever since.

This concert sets the Requiem against other works written on similar themes, beginning with Mozart’s expressive Passion aria for soprano, Kommet her, ihr frechen Sünder (1779).

J.S. Bach’s cantata Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen (whose opening later became the Crucifixus of his Mass in B minor) include Bach’s first extended solo for oboe in the beautiful aria for alto, a duet for bass and tenor, and a mournful tenor aria.

Remembrance is the specific focus of two heartfelt 20th-century miniatures, Stravinsky’s In memoriam Dylan Thomas for tenor and small ensemble, and Arvo Pärt’s haunting Cantus in memoriam Benjamin Britten.

Rick Prakhoff conducts the Melbourne Bach Choir, orchestra, and four outstanding soloists – Jacqueline Porter (Soprano), Sally-Anne Russell (Mezzo-soprano), Andrew Goodwin (Tenor) and Andrew Jones (Baritone).

Presented by Melbourne Bach Choir


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen, Cantata BWV 12

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Aria Kommet her, ihr frechen Sünder, K.146

Igor Stravinsky
In memoriam Dylan Thomas (for tenor & small ensemble)

Arvo Pärt
Cantus in memoriam Benjamin Britten


Jacqueline Porter soprano
Sally-Anne Russell mezzo-soprano
Andrew Goodwin tenor
Andrew Jones baritone
Melbourne Bach Choir and Orchestra, conducted by Rick Prakhoff