Jazz and Blues



Ukranian-Australian, mother-son duo Markiyan and Oksana Melnychenko have a shared devotion to performing with the highest standard of musical artistry, giving recitals brimming with passionate joy for sharing great music.

With performances given throughout Europe and North America, Markiyan has performed at the prestigious Lincoln Centre (New York) and Kennedy Centre (Washington), even in front of President Barack Obama in front of the U.S. Capitol.

As well as playing together, both are highly trained professionals from local and international music schools and Markiyan is a lecturer at Melbourne Conservatorium of Music.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Markiyan and Oksana Melnychenko


Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Suite from the incidental music for Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing, for violin and piano, Op. 11
I. Maiden in the Bridal Chamber
II. March of the Watch
III. Garden Scene
IV. Hornpipe

George Gershwin/Jascha Heifetz
Selections from the Porgy and Bess suite
My Man’s Gone Now
Bess, You is My Woman Now
It Ain’t Necessarily So

Maurice Ravel
Violin Sonata No.2
I. Allegretto
II. Blues – Moderato
III. Perpetuum Mobile – Allegro

George Gershwin/Jascha Heifetz
3 Preludes for Violin and Piano arr. Heifetz
Allegro ben ritmato e deciso
Andante con moto e poco rubato
Allegro ben ritmato e deciso