Mozart & The Classical Age

Mozart and the Classical Age


For this program, Melbourne Chamber Orchestra brings together three of the great Classical minds whose music epitomises the elegance, joy and clarity of this unmatched period of music history: Mozart, the young impresario taking Vienna by storm; Haydn, the father figure of the Classical period; and Kraus, the composer often called the “Swedish Mozart.”

Anna Goldsworthy enthralled audiences with her MCO debut in 2014 with her intensely satisfying performances of Mozart’s final piano concerto. For this concert, she joins the orchestra for two gems rarely heard on the Melbourne stage: Mozart’s sixth concerto, written at age 20, and the exuberant D major concerto of Haydn.

Presented by Melbourne Chamber Orchestra


Joseph Martin Kraus
Olympie: Overture

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
String Quartet No.7 (arr string orchestra)

Joseph Haydn
Piano Concerto No.11

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Concerto No.6
Symphony No.30


Anna Goldsworthy piano
William Hennessy director
Melbourne Chamber Orchestra