Orava Quartet: Dances, Dreams and Prayers

Orava Quartet


Unique and unforgettable sound worlds

Orava Quartet and guest artists Melissa Doecke (flute), Lloyd Van’t Hoff (clarinet) and Marshall McGuire (harp) perform three exquisite masterpieces that create a unique and unforgettable sound world.

Experience rich and beautiful works, from Ravel’s Introduction and Allegro, which sparkles with energy and joie de vivre, to Debussy’s Dances and their subtle sombre tones – with the perfect matching of harp and strings capturing and balancing the contrasting moods in a thoroughly original way. Not to mention Golijov’s touching homage to the great Isaac of Provence, which brought about the composer’s profound reflection on the nature of composition and its exquisite beginnings: ‘An art that springs from and relies on our ability to sing and hear, with the power to build castles of sound in our memories.’

This concert is supported by Arnold and Mary Bram

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Orava Quartet
Melissa Doecke, flute
Lloyd Van’t Hoff, clarinet
Marshall McGuire, harp


Claude Debussy
Dance sacrée et dance profane

Maurice Ravel
Introduction and Allegro

Osvaldo Golijov
The Dreams & Prayers of Isaac the Blind