Poetical Melodies - Elegiac & Daring



The Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra performs the Poetical Melodies of the Romantic period.

The sublime string section of the Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra takes centre stage in this program, to explore the Poetical Melodies of the Romantic period on gut strings, delving into works by Mendelssohn, Grieg, Van Bree, Puccini and Dvořák. Directed by concertmaster Rachael Beesley, the rich and expressive 19th century style of performance is explored in this unique and engaging concert experience.

Presented by Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra



Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
String Symphony in B Minor No.10 (1823)

Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Elegiac Melodies Op.34 (1880)

From Holberg’s Time Op.40 ‘Holberg Suite’ (1884)

Johannes Van Bree (1801-1857)
Allegro in D Minor for Four String Quartets (1845)

Giacomo Puccini (1858-1924)
Crisantemi (1890) (6”)

Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
Serenade in E Major for Strings Op.22 (1875)


Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra
Rachael Beesley – Director


Join us for a pre-concert talk in Elisabeth Murdoch Hall from 6.45pm.


What I actually felt coming off the stage was a bold and unanimous gesture; an ensemble saying, ‘Listen to this. This is what we made.’ It was wonderful.


This production is part of the following series:

Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra 2018

Under the Artistic Direction of renowned musician and educator Richard Gill AO, the Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra is a world-class orchestra of leading Australian musicians who are dedicated to the performance of Classical and Romantic orchestral and chamber music repertoire in historically informed style on period instruments.