Indelible masterpieces from four great Romantic composers.

Be transported into the vivid emotional worlds of the Romantics, with the mercurial joy of Mendelssohn’s Italian Symphony, a glimpse of tragedy from Verdi’s La Traviata, and the exquisite tenderness of Dvořák’s rarely-performed Romance.

For his only piano concerto, Schumann rewrote the rule book, bringing orchestra and soloist into a profound dialogue inspired by chamber music. To perform the concerto with MCO, we welcome Russian pianist Konstantin Shamray, winner of the 2008 Sydney International Piano Competition of Australia.

Presented by Melbourne Chamber Orchestra


Giuseppe Verdi
La Traviata: Act III Overture

Robert Schumann
Piano Concerto

Antonín Dvořák
Romance for violin and orchestra

Felix Mendelssohn
Symphony No.4 Italian


Konstantin Shamray piano
Markiyan Melnychenko violin
Michael Dahlenburg conductor
William Hennessy director
Mebourne Chamber Orchestra