Goldner String Quartet with Piers Lane



The Goldner String Quartet has widespread and long-standing recognition for excellence, as not only Australia’s pre-eminent string quartet, but as an ensemble of international significance, favourably compared with the best in the world.

Launched in 1995, and still retaining all four founding members, the Goldner String Quartet’s stability of membership is enjoyed by very few ensembles.

Beethoven’s most concise quartet, Op.95, is entitled Serioso. Sharing the same key of F minor, Brahms’ mammoth piano quintet echoes Beethoven’s serious and earnest intent depicted in Serioso. Between these mighty works stands an absolute gem of a serenade by Schubert (arranged by Franz Liszt) for solo piano, performed by Piers Lane and to conclude the program, the rarely heard piano quintet by one of the great talents of the 20th century – Eric Wolfgang Korngold – who helped create the lush, romantic sound of the golden years of Hollywood.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet No.11 Serioso

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Piano Quintet in E, Op.15

Franz Schubert
Ständchen arr. Liszt

Johannes Brahms
Piano Quintet in F minor, Op.34a