Tchaikovsky & Brahms with Li-Wei Qin



Pianist Kristian Chong is one of Australia’s most sought-after musicians, performing often as a chamber musician, concerto soloist and recitalist.

This series is a gathering of his friends performing some of the greatest chamber duo sonatas, trios, quartets and quintets.

Tchaikovsky & Brahms with Li-Wei Qin features the great Tchaikovsky Piano Trio; the sheer magnitude of this work is enough to cause trepidation for even the most accomplished ensembles. It is a behemoth of grief and tragedy which to this day remains unmatched in the repertoire, and requires great virtuosity from all. Kristian is joined by one of the world’s great cellists, Li-Wei Qin, and Adelaide Symphony concertmaster Natsuko Yoshimoto for a life-affirming journey through the darker depths of human experience conveyed in Tchaikovsky’s incredible writing.

Tchaikovsky’s Trio is perfectly paired with a Brahms masterwork, his turbulent but breathtaking third Piano Quartet, one of the highlights of his chamber music output. Joining Kristian, Li-Wei and Natsuko is acclaimed violist Imants Larsens from the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra. Surely one of the most exciting concerts in Melbourne in 2018.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Kristian Chong


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Piano Trio in A minor (“In Memory of a Great Artist”), Op.50

Johannes Brahms
Piano Quartet in C minor Op.60


Natsuko Yoshimoto violin
Imants Larsens viola
Li-Wei Qin cello
Kristian Chong piano