10 at 10 Melbourne Edition



Decibel New Music Ensemble was founded in Western Australia in 2009.

To celebrate ten years – four international tours, five recorded releases, over 70 commissioned works and 30 world premieres performed in Australia, Decibel commemorates with 10 concerts of 10 works across Australia in 2019. Performing Australian works commissioned and premiered by the ensemble.

Decibel 10 at 10 is supported by the WA State Government through the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Cat Hope Artistic Director, Flutes
Tristen Parr cello
Aaron Wyatt violin/viola
Lindsay Vickery reeds, electronics
Stuart James piano, percussion, electronics and spatialisation.
Louise Devenish percussion


Warren Burt Another Noisy Lullaby (2009)
Samuel Dunscombe West Park (2011)
Brigid Burke Burning Antrils (2017)
Cat Hope The Lowest Drawer (2014)


Marcus Fusinato Mass Black Implosion (Treatise, Cornelius Cardew) (2017)
James Rushford Espalier (2012)
Carmen Chan Schoenborn Our Current State of Progress (2018)
Thembi Soddell Your Sickness is Felt in My Body (2014)