Beethoven, Haydn & Schubert

Gábor Takács-Nagy


Gábor Takács-Nagy is the complete musician; a founding member of the Takács Quartet, he has gone on to become an inspirational conductor and teacher of chamber music performance.

In this sumptuous concert, he directs ANAM musicians in a banquet of music from one of the golden ages of music in Vienna.

Mozart composed his miraculous Symphony No.25 when he was just 17; Haydn’s jubilant Symphony No.90 on the other hand, is a product of the composer’s rich maturity, by which time his fame had spread through Europe. Beethoven’s rarely-heard Overture honours Hungary’s first king, while Schubert’s delicious Overture is better known as the one to the play Rosamunde; a publisher appropriated it for that purpose decades after Schubert’s death.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM)


Franz Schubert
Overture Die Zauberharfe

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony No.25

Ludwig van Beethoven
Overture König Stephan

Joseph Haydn
Symphony No.90


Gábor Takács-Nagy conductor
ANAM Musicians


This production is part of the following series:

Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) 2019

The only institute of its kind, and one of the few in the world, ANAM is renowned for its innovation, energy and adventurous programming and is committed to pushing the boundaries of how classical music is presented and performed.