Chrysalis Trio: Ibert and Debussy



One of Melbourne’s most exciting new chamber ensembles, forged at the Australian National Academy of Music, makes its Melbourne Recital Centre debut.

This compelling program is built around Debussy’s masterwork, the first work created for the magical combination of flute, viola and harp. In between, a musical adventure takes you from the vitality and flair of the French Baroque to the world premiere of a new work written specifically for the Chrysalis Trio by Australian composer Natalie Williams.

The ANAM Artists program is supported by John T Reid Charitable Trusts and the Bowness Family Foundation.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Kiran Phatak flute
Katie Yap viola
Melina van Leeuwen harp


Jacques Ibert
Deux Interludes

Jean-Philippe Rameau
Pieces de clavecin en concerts: Concert No.5

Natalie Williams
The Chrysalis Game (world premiere)

Claude Debussy Sonate en trio for flute, viola et harpe