From Russia With...



Acclaimed Melbourne string quartet Quartz unites violinists Kathryn Taylor and Philippa West, violist Merewyn Bramble and cellist Zoe Wallace in refreshing concerts of classical and contemporary repertoire.

Quartz heroes two masters of emotion, composers Haydn and Tchaikovsky, in works of lush excitement. Listen closely to hear ripples of laughter in Haydn’s Russian Quartet No.2, aptly nicknamed ‘The Joke’. And experience Tchaikovsky’s melodic Quartet No.1, featuring one of classical music’s treasured works, his Andante Cantabile, which is said to have moved Leo Tolstoy to tears.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Quartz


Kathryn Taylor violin
Philippa West violin
Merewyn Bramble viola
Zoe Wallace cello


Joseph Haydn
String Quartet Op.33, No.2 in E-flat, ‘The Joke’

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
String Quartet No.1 in D, Op.11


This production is part of the following series:


Quartz’s unique programs shine a light on the string quartet repertoire by highlighting well-known pieces of beauty and energy.