Hoang’s Concerto Concert with Geelong Symphony Orchestra



Two orchestral tone poems by Gershwin and Sibelius bookend this fabulous piano concerto concert of Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue and Grieg’s Piano Concerto in A minor.

In 1928, Gershwin composed his Rhapsody in Blue on a train trip to Boston and later described it as “a sort of musical kaleidoscope of America”. In the same sense, Grieg’s Piano Concerto was his own musical kaleidoscope of Norwegian folk music. Once again, this is a concert not to be missed by piano concerto lovers!

Presented by Hoang Pham Productions


George Gershwin
An American in Paris
Rhapsody in Blue

Edvard Grieg
Piano Concerto in A minor, Op.16

Jean Sibelius
Finlandia Op.26


Hoang Pham, piano
Fabian Russell, conductor
Geelong Symphony Orchestra