"Magnum Opus" The Opus 5 of Corelli



For more than a decade, Baroque trio Latitude 37 has been giving exquisite and authentic performances of 17th and 18th-century music.

The combination of Baroque violin, viola da gamba and harpsichord opens up a wealth of fascinating, rarely heard repertoire. In 2019 its concert series focuses on a composer who represents the epitome of Baroque theatricality and flamboyance, Arcangelo Corelli.

Prolific Baroque composer Arcangelo Corelli injected music with tangible and uncompromising passion – he brought such ambition to his music his eyes glowed ‘red as fire’ when he played his violin. Illuminated on period instruments by Latitude 37, hear his only set of violin sonatas, his Opus 5, glisten with purity, refinement and the fruits of his aspiration to ‘perfect’ music for the instrument.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Latitude 37


Arcangelo Corelli
Violin Sonata in D, Op.5, No.1
I Grave
II Allegro
III Allegro
IV Adagio
V Allegro

Violin Sonata in E minor, Op.5, No.8, transcribed for viola da gamba
I Preludio: Largo
II Allemanda: Allegro
III Sarabanda: Largo
IV Giga: Allegro

Violin Sonata in C, Op.5, No.3
I Adagio
II Allegro
III Adagio
IV Allegro
V Allegro

Violin Sonata in D minor, Op.5, No.12, ‘La Folia’