New Constellations



‘Rich, impassioned, and faultlessly realised, it’s a thrilling example of HIP with all the right strings attached.’ The Age

Berlin-based violinist Jakob Lehmann leads an ensemble of specialist local and international chamber musicians through the expansive sounds and pioneering ideas of New Constellations.

The Octet for Strings was written when Mendelssohn was just 16, and illustrates the transformation of performance techniques in the chamber music of the early-Romantic period. Brahms destroyed the nonet version of his Serenade, but based on archives and written accounts this original chamber version has been brought back to life.

Presented by Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra


Felix Mendelssohn (1809-47)
Octet for Strings in E-flat

Johannes Brahms (1833-97)
Serenade No.1 in D for Nonet


Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra
Jakob Lehmann International Guest Director