New Worlds

Arcadia Winds.JPG


Experience one of Australia’s most exciting young ensembles

Composers from two new worlds – the U.S.A. and Australia – are transporting wind music to thrilling new heights. American David Maslanka understood wind instruments like few others; his final quintet is a modern masterpiece. Autumn Music, by his countrywoman Jennifer Higdon, is equally colourful, poignant and evocative. Paired with these are brand new works by two of Australian composition’s brightest new stars: Lachlan Skipworth and Sam Smith.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Arcadia Winds


Jennifer Higdon
Autumn Music

Lachlan Skipworth
Partita for solo clarinet

Samuel Smith
Dark Colours

David Maslanka
Wind Quintet No.4


Kiran Phatak flute
David Reichelt oboe
Lloyd Van’t Hoff clarinet
Rachel Shaw horn
Matthew Kneale bassoon