Scintillating Bartók, Ravel & Debussy with Dale Barltrop

Dale Barltrop


‘This was chamber music making at its finest.’ Classic Melbourne

Pianist Kristian Chong is one of Australia’s most sought-after musicians, performing often as a chamber musician, concerto soloist and recitalist. Kristian Chong & Friends is a gathering of Kristian’s talented friends for wonderful programs of chamber music.

Béla Bartók’s arresting and virtuosic Sonata No.1 for violin and piano is brought to life by two incredible muscians, Co-Concertmaster of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Dale Barltrop and acclaimed pianist Kristian Chong. This work pairs exquisitely with sonatas by Debussy and Ravel whose influence shows in the Bartók. A recital of explosive virtuosity and colour.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Kristian Chong


Dale Barltrop violin
Kristian Chong piano


Claude Debussy
Sonata for violin and piano in G minor L.140

Maurice Ravel
Sonata for violin and piano, No.1 in A minor, M.12

Béla Bartók
Sonata for violin and piano in C-sharp minor, Op.21, No.1, Sz. 75, BB 84