Shostakovich at Montsalvat Barn Gallery


This event takes place at Montsalvat Bar Gallery


Shostakovich; through the lens of the string quartet.

In a unique concept, Flinders Quartet explore Shostakovich’s life through a prism of his string quartets.

Inspired by Wendy Lesser’s book Music for Silenced Voices, this program will explore the life of Shostakovich through selections from his fifteen string quartets, and follows his relationship with The Beethoven Quartet; his muse for most of his string quartet writing. Be prepared for something a little left of centre.

Presented by Flinders Quartet


Nicholas Waters violin
Thibaud Pavlovic-Hobba violin
Helen Ireland viola
Zoe Knighton cello


String Quartet Cycle
Selected movements from the string quartets of Shostakovich, curated by Flinders Quartet


This production is part of the following series:

Flinders Quartet

Flinders Quartet is instantly recognisable as one as Australia’s most loved chamber music ensembles. A quartet for the twenty-first century, their dynamic and stirring performances of a full spectrum of repertoire have audiences and critics articulating their esteem.