Slavic Passion



‘Seraphim Trio…A masterclass in chamber music technique and ensemble.’ The Australian

Inspiring others through its intelligent programming and love of chamber music, Seraphim Trio never fails to delight. Its players, Helen Ayres (violin), Anna Goldsworthy (piano) and Tim Nankervis (cello), are steadfastly committed to building contemporary repertoire, developing audiences and teaching emerging performers.

At the heart of this concert is music by the father of Czech music, Bed?ich Smetana. In his beloved trio, Smetana grieves the loss of a daughter but finds new life in the birth of a truly nationalist Czech style. Back in present-day Australia, be among the first to experience a brand-new trio by Richard Mills, generously commissioned by Dimity Reed especially for her husband’s 80th-birthday celebrations.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Seraphim Trio


Helen Ayres violin
Timothy Nankervis cello
Anna Goldsworthy piano


Joseph Suk
Elegie Op.23 for piano, violin & cello

Richard Mills
Piano Trio (new commission)

Bedrich Smetana
Piano Trio Op.15 in G minor