Tango de Saxos



Nexas Quartet entrances you with the rhythms and sounds of Buenos Aires.

Performing tango classics and a brand-new work by Argentinean composer Fernando Lerman, the Quartet transports you right in amongst the hustle and bustle of Argentinean streets from the early 1920s right through to the modern day.

The saxophone, with its flexibility and expressiveness, is the perfect instrument to guide you on this journey, and what better experience than with four of Australia’s leading players.

Nexas Quartet is also joined by guest artists Daniel Rojas and Stephen Cuttriss.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Nexas Quartet


Astor Piazzolla – arr. Jay Byrnes

Michael Duke
Los Zapatos de Roberto

Astor Piazzolla – arr. Jay Byrnes
Suite del Angel
1. Milonga del Angel
2. Muerte del Angel
3. Resurreccion del Angel

Fernando Lerman
De Los Tres Barrios
2. La Paternal
3. Villa Mitre

Astor Piazzolla – arr. Jay Byrnes and Michael Duke
Cuatro Estaciones Portenas
1.Verano Porteno
2.Invierno Porteno
3.Primavera Portena
4.Otono Porteno


Nexas Quartet
Daniel Rojas Piano
Stephen Cuttriss Bandoneon