Brodsky Quartet: The Art of Fugue



Since its formation in 1972 the Brodsky Quartet has performed over 3000 concerts on the major stages of the world and released more than 60 recordings.

A natural curiosity and insatiable desire to explore has propelled the group in many artistic directions and continues to ensure not only its place at the very forefront of the international chamber music scene but also its rich and varied musical existence.

The Brodsky’s energy and craftsmanship have attracted numerous awards and accolades worldwide, while ongoing educational work provides a vehicle for passing on experience and staying in touch with the next generation.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Brodsky Quartet
Ian Belton violin
Paul Cassidy viola
Jacqueline Thomas cello
Gina McCormack violin


J.S. Bach
The Art of Fugue BWV1080 Contrapunctus I
The Art of Fugue BWV 1080 Contrapunctus VI, a 4 in Stylo Francese

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Adagio and Fugue K.546

Felix Mendelssohn
4 Pieces for String Quartet, Op.81

Ludwig van Beethoven
Grosse Fuge

Dmitry Shostakovich
String Quartet Op.110, No.8 in C minor

Program updated by the artists on Monday 6 May 2019