The Belgian Violin

Markiyan & Oksana Melnychenko


Ukranian-Australian mother-son duo Markiyan and Oksana Melnychenko have a shared devotion to performing great violin and piano masterpieces.

Their recitals present the highest standard of musical artistry, brimming with passionate joy for sharing great music.

The Belgian school of violin playing produced some of the worlds greatest violinists, who in turn created great music of their own as well as inspiring their compatriots to do so. Markiyan & Oksana Melnychenko perform works from three of Belgium’s finest musicians, Eugène Ysaÿe, Henri Vieuxtemps and César Franck

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Markiyan & Oksana Melnychenko


Henri Vieuxtemps
2 Romances sans paroles, from Op.7

Eugène Ysaÿe
Sonata for solo violin No.4 in E minor

César Franck
Sonata for violin and piano in A, M.8


Markiyan Melnychenko violin
Oksana Melnychenko piano