The Theatre of the Soul

Theatre of the Soul.JPG


Experience exquisite music that hasn’t been heard for centuries

Specialising in music from the age of basso continuo (late 16th to early 18th century), Ensemble 642 is directed by two leading young Australian exponents of rare plucked-string instruments: Hannah Lane (Baroque triple harp) and Nicholas Pollock (theorbo, lutes & Baroque guitar).

Collaborating with the finest early music performers in Australia the Ensemble brings to life exquisite music that hasn’t been heard for hundreds of years.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Ensemble 642


Hannah Lane Baroque harp
Nicholas Pollock lutes
Roberta Diamond soprano (guest artist)
Jacob Lawrence tenor (guest artist)
Laura Vaughan viola da gamba & lirone (guest artist)


Claudio Monteverdi
Tempro la cetra
Excerpts from L’Orfeo


Claudio Monteverdi
Dorme, l’incauta dorme (from The Coronation of Poppaea) SV.308
Nigra sum
Laudate dominum in sanctis eiu SV.287

Giovanni Girolamo Kapsberger

Claudio Monteverdi
Et è pur dunque vero
Sospirato mio sole! (from The Return of Ulysses to his Homeland) SV.325